March 29, 2003-11:51 p.m.

I�m still a bit upset about the email I got from that bandleader.

Here are the messages I left:

First message:

--In [email protected] [email protected] wrote:

This is probably crass but I'm desperate. My brother is in need of a heart transplant and has no insurance. I've created a website to take donations and raise money for the evaluation he needs to be placed on the transplant list. We are taking donations and have tshirts and ball caps for sale.

http://sa-land.com/Savebubba.htm

Thanks,
Sa
*My real name here*

Second message:

Oops! I totally botched that link!

http://www.sa-land.com/Savebubba.htm

Here is �the moderator�s� response:

To sa@sa-land,

First, I want to say that we are sorry about your brother's and your family's situation. One of the band members is a cancer survivor and another has been a cancer caretaker.....so we can understand life/death family health issues.

I am also sorry you are angry about the deleting of the message you left in the Yahoo! group. However, I must mention a few things.

---Our group is not to be used for fund-raising of any kind, without the permission of the site-owner. If you wanted to make mention of your situation, the appropriate thing would have been to let the moderator know that you are going to post a message asking the group for money. After we look into the situation to make sure you are not trying to scam the group, then we would be happy to post the message and support your cause. This band has supported more worthy causes and played more free shows and benefits than I care to list.

---I have visited your site, and would appeal to your sense of understanding in this matter. If we went on your site and started to post messages and things promoting the band or other aspects of our business, then I would expect you to be a little put off. It is just common internet etiquette.

---You yourself mentioned in the message that "I don't know if this is appropriate....". If you ever have to ask that question, then the most likely the answer is "it is not appropriate."

We hope you are able to understand why the message was deleted, and that if you had taken some time to let us (the moderators) know what your intentions were, that we would have supported you.

MG

I replied:

*Bandleader�s name*,

I'm not angry.

A little saddened perhaps. . .

You have every right to determine the content of your site. I was just a little shocked by the summary deletion of my message without any comment.

I harbor no resentment towards *your band�s name*. You're still in the cd player in my truck.

*My real name*

Even though I�ve already written about this once and I wrote a fairly conciliatory response to his email, the more I�ve thought about it the madder I�ve gotten.

Some thoughts:

  1. I signed my name to the message. Do you think you might have addressed your email to me instead of my email address?

  2. If your concern was for whether or not I was scamming, why not contact me? You took the time to visit my site or so you say. You have my email address. Investigate away, I won�t be offended because I have nothing to hide.

  3. WTF? Internet etiquette? Am I the only one who has never heard of this?

    #~#This just in--Heather says I've been living under a rock! Internet etiquette = netiquette#~#

  4. Did you read the part where I said I was desperate? Desperate people do desperate things.

  5. You completely misquoted me. Next time you plan on using someone�s words against them, try and remember what they were.

So basically what you�re telling me here is you won�t help me and chances are slim that you ever would have helped me but since I didn�t follow �common internet etiquette,� you�ve got yourself a convenient and self-righteous out. And, oh yeah, you like to have the last word.

Guestbook�s open, Buddy. Fire away. I promise I won�t delete you.

`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�`�

Updated: April 10, 2003 *I�ve gotten googled twice now for Macon Greyson. It doesn�t point people toward this entry but rather to one from last year. I hate that the googlers aren�t getting a true picture so I�ve added this blurb. You�ve got the band�s name now hideous, you can report them to Sting and Bono!*

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland