March 25, 2003-5:37 p.m.

Y�all know I�m just beating this Save Bubba thing to death, right?

I�m sending the link to the website to everyone I can possibly think of.

Today, I sent emails to the president, both my senators, representatives, the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services, the Governor of Texas and some local news media.

This is how I�m spending my vacation.

It still beats the heck out of work!

For a month or two, I�ve belonged to a local band�s message board/discussion group. I�d never posted a message before but last Thursday in a fit of desperation, I posted an appeal about my brother�s plight along with a link to the website.

The moderator of the group deleted my message pretty quickly without comment. I had no idea who the moderator was because it listed them as �*band�s name*fan [email protected]� or something like that. A day or so later, probably Saturday, when I realized that they deleted my message, I left another message saying, �I hope you never have to go through what I am going through now� and I resigned from their group.

End of story.

Today, out of nowhere, I got a sort of defensive email from the leader of the band saying they are sympathetic to the plight of my brother and my family especially since two of their members have had personal dealings with cancer in their families. He�s sorry that I�m angry about the deletion of my messages and that their site is not to be used for fundraising and I should have checked with the moderator about the appropriateness of my message before I posted it. He went on to say how generous they have been in supporting charitable causes and what not and if I had approached this in the right way, they may have been able to lend their support.

Okay. I�m not a professional fundraiser for cripes sake! I don�t know what the rules are. I thought it was get your message out there any way possible.

I responded to his email by saying that I wasn�t angry, perhaps just saddened a bit, and that I had just been shocked that they deleted my message without saying anything. Of course, I understand that it is their site and that they have every right to determine what the content of that site is. I don�t begrudge the band and in fact still have their cd in the player in my truck.

What I don�t get is why he felt the need to send me this email.

I�m not out badmouthing his band on my massive forum here at Diaryland, or anything.

I�m too busy for that!

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland