May 23, 2002-8:40 p.m.

If this doesn�t describe the horror that was my day today, I don�t know what would: My 7am dentist appointment complete with shots and drills was the absolute high point of my day.

You know it�s bad when dentist-induced numbness extending beyond your mouth and into your nasal passages is the pinnacle of your day. The attempt at lipstick application was pretty darned entertaining, too!

I arrive at work and begin to enter the reports I�m doing whilst my supervisor is on vacation. I notice that the rodent is missing. Great! Wasn�t looking forward to dealing with him post-dentist, anyways.

I get the reports completed when the ever so charming trucker�s daughter appears to ask if I can find the FMLA forms online for someone in her class. �Sa�s a computer whiz!� *Read: She can navigate the internet with ease* This encounter was thankfully brief.

I had been scheduled to attend a meeting this afternoon including the trucker�s daughter, the rodent and several key account personnel, including corporate types, on a conference call.

The rodent had his wife call in sick for him this morning. Unless he was hospitalized or unconscious, that�s really a wimp move if you ask me, especially in light of the fact that he has a vacation day tomorrow, but I digress.

This meeting was supposed to be about the transition of some of TD�s former duties to the rodent. I was supposed to function as his back up. These claims include some hospital bills that would pay out approximately $14,000 so TD told our supervisor that our pay authorities (the amount that we are allowed to pay out on a claim) would have be raised to that amount. The manager would only authorize me for this and not the rodent. He was none too pleased. I�m still (stupidly, I know) thinking that I will be the back-up because I have so much work associated with my present duties.

We get to the portion of the meeting where the transition is to be discussed and before I know it they are basically introducing me as the new lead for these types of claims! We�re on a conference call so I can�t yell, �Hey, wait a minute. I�m the back-up.�

Once the call is over, it�s all settled.

Sa is the contact.

Alert the media!

I, of course, am less than pleased by this sudden turn of events but everyone else seems quite happy. I can hardly wait until the rodent gets back on Tuesday!

I don�t smoke, so this turn of events called for chocolate.

I had barely finished my M & M�s when I got an email saying that this man would be taking another job within the company and would be replaced by a person who is now a manager.

Okay, whatever.

Shortly, thereafter, I received another email from corporate stating that he will be the director over a unit that has duties that sound eerily like the duties that my team now performs. Of course, none of the supervisors knew anything about it and my own supervisor is on vacation. It's also the end of the day so no information is forthcoming today.

Probably wouldn�t hurt to ease up on the obsessive internet email checking and monitor the foul language in my in house missives.

After that bombshell, overtime was out of the question!

I just packed my stuff and left.

Hopefully tomorrow will be a day of explanations and reassurances.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland