October 10, 2001-8:47 p.m.

Workplace strangeness abounds in Sa-land!

Previous to Monday morning, I was in no way inclined to believe in conspiracy theories. The events of that morning have, however, given me pause and caused me to, not necessarily re-think, but to reconsider my position.

My supervisor came to me and asked if I would go with her to the director�s office. I thought it had something to do with the note discussed in the previous entry.

�No, this has to do with an email you sent to management.�

�About the intercom?� *grasping*

�This was about Red, White and Blue Day.�

�I didn�t send them an email about Red, White and Blue Day.�

�You�re saying you didn�t send the email? ~Manager�s name~ has a copy of it�

So we go to the director�s office and he has a copy of an email supposedly from me that arrived in their mailbox Monday. I would have written the email about September 12th or 13th but it just showed up in their inbox Monday. I didn�t get the opportunity to examine the email very well but it seemed to be an email I sent to a friend in reference to the Red, White and Blue Day although there was nothing showing where the email had been sent.

It said something like this: �What�s up with the forced patriotism. A horrible thing has happened. It�s shit like this that probably helped cause this.�

The director asked me if I remember this email and I said no but that I can�t deny that those were my feelings. I don�t even know who I sent it to and I certainly would not have intentionally sent it to management. �That would be idiotic.� *Direct Sa quote*

He asks me why at a time in our nation when more flags are being sold and more people are showing their patriotism than ever, I would write something like that.

I said I didn�t think I would ever be able to explain it to him.

He tells me that since it was unintentional that he can forgive it but for me to be careful and that I might want to watch the language in the future, especially on company email.

I was nauseous and stunned for probably an hour after I left his office. My more paranoid associates suggested that perhaps management had been going through my email looking for evidence of wrongdoing. I did delete a lot of stuff from my sent messages folder on Friday and maybe somehow when I was doing that, I sent it. I honestly have no idea how they came up with it. I think if they had been really looking, they could have come up with something better than lack of patriotism and use of the word �shit� in an email to a friend.

Thankfully, I haven�t been asked to sign anything as a result of these discussions with management.

Also on Monday, the trucker�s daughter had to make two separate trips to the conference room for talks with the supervisor. The first one, I�m sure, was as a result of Friday�s fun and games. The second one was the result of her own stupidity.

We are getting a new caterer in the lunchroom and they sent out an email with an example of the menu. The menu included okra and greens so someone asked whether we knew if the company was black-owned or not. The trucker�s daughter piped in, �There ain�t no way they�re black-owned. There�s no fried chicken on the menu.� Needless to say, several people were offended by this outburst and one person took their grievance to the supervisor, which resulted in the trucker�s daughter being called into the conference room for Round #2.

No one was really talking to her before this incident and now she might as well be covered in anthrax the way people are avoiding contact with her.

In other workplace news, we have been treated to the white hose every day this week, so far and my keycard has successfully allowed me into the building this week so hopefully that is an indication of job security.

In light of all that�s happened recently, I�m just hoping for a few days bereft of surprises.

Stay tuned.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland