November 07, 2001-9:08 p.m.

Today in Sa-land�Birthday Bash, Part Two!

Go here for the first installment.

I got up Saturday morning and went down to the lobby of the hotel and got a latte and a muffin, as my friends aren�t much on breakfast. They finished getting ready and met me about the time I finished eating. We checked out of the hotel and hit the road for the racetrack.

I had never been to the racetrack before so my friend�s husband took me under his wing to teach me the ins and outs of betting on the ponies. For my fortieth birthday, these same friends took me to the neighboring state of Louisiana for riverboat gambling.

*Are these people just the best or what?*

I have to say that of the two, I prefer the ponies.

The first part of the day was spent watching the simulcast of the Breeder�s Cup. We bet on those horses and watched the races.

There were some rather interesting characters at the races. There was a couple in the box next to us. The lady hardly said a word. The man on the other hand was incredibly vocal and profane in his assertion that every race had been fixed in some way.

�If that @#$% handler hadn�t jerked the horse�s head around on the paddock he might have been worth something. Any idiot knows when you jerk a horse�s head around like that he isn�t going to run!�

�Look at that! The *&#$%%$# jockey is holding the horse back!�

�That $#@!%^&*~#$ is letting them pass�

Sa to friends: �Don�t bet on his horses.�

After the last race on television, they started the live races there at the track.

A lot of people left after the simulcast, which was fine with us, as we didn�t have to wait as long for our drinks once they left.

Some men behind us had evidently done quite well on the last few races. So much so, that they felt compelled to discuss their bets during the singing of the national anthem.

I couldn�t help but think that these same men probably had flags plastered all over their vehicles and would probably kick the butt of any one who disrespected the USA, yet here they were blabbering away during the Star Spangled Banner.

I�ll never fail to be amazed by people.

So unlike last year, this year�s birthday great.

I�m extraordinarily lucky to have so many great and caring friends.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland