October 28, 2001-9:39 p.m.

Today in Sa-land�Tales of Sa�s Birthday Adventure!

*Vigorous round of applause*

Friday afternoon, I arrived at my friend�s house and once her husband got in from work, we headed out to the hotel. When we got there, we checked in and then went to the high story, high profile bar and had drinks and snacks. This bar revolves and gives you a view of the downtown skyline in every direction. We spent a little bit of our time ~or my friends did~ watching to make sure that planes kept a safe distance from the tower. I wasn�t too concerned about that.

About three rows back from us was a table occupied by a man and woman. The man was wearing some sort of nametag. I had noticed while we were in the lobby of the hotel that there was a convention of dermatology/microsurgery practitioners staying there so this man may have been with them. Or he may have just been a guy in a nametag trying to get over. At any rate, he talked louder than was really necessary to be heard by his date. I heard all about his experience with a road-raged driver who followed him off of the freeway and into the parking lot of the local BMW dealership and threatened to get his gun out of his car at which point Mr. Loud-Obnoxious Man lured him over to his car with taunts and doused him with an entire can of pepper spray. When the police arrived, it was determined that Crying-Pepper-Laced Man did in fact have a gun in his car. Whew! That was a narrow escape!

The next year, he gave everyone pepper spray for Christmas. He was that thankful.

He then went on to talk about someone he knew who worked at a Cadillac dealership and I was beginning to think that all of his anecdotes revolved around the purchasing places of luxury automobiles.

Boy, was I relieved when he began to tell the story of the world�s greatest cat and how his ex-wife got the cat in the divorce but the cat hated her so much it ran away. Odd, though, he never mentioned the world�s greatest cat�s name. He told all about how he came to acquire this cat and their many adventures together but he always referred to it as �the cat� or �this cat� making me even more inclined to believe he was full of himself.

We finished our drinks and got a cab over to the arena for the rodeo. The rodeo turned out to be another excellent opportunity to observe mankind in all its variations. We saw everything from punk-rock-skater-kids with their hair in spikes to straight-ahead-just-off-the-ranch cowboys and a lot of what falls in between. I had taken my little digital camera along for the express purpose of documenting some of these sights. Here is the head covering of the woman directly in front of me.



Pretty cute, huh?

Something that I didn�t find quite as cute�my best friend delivered a strong elbow to my ribs during the convocational portion of the rodeo.

I made the unforgivable sin of laughing during the prayer. I know it sounds like outlandish behavior, even for me, but the man delivering the prayer said,

�Dear Lord, when we get up to the Pearly Gates of Heaven, may all of our entry fees be already paid and may all of our trophy buckles be made of pure gold.�

Once I recovered from the rib pain and the rodeo started, everything went along well until a horse bucked a little close to our seats and managed to sling dirt/I-shudder-to-think-what-else into my beer. If you look at the picture below, I�ve circled the sediment for you.



Granted it wasn�t a huge chunk of sediment but it was enough to put me off of that glass of beer.

After that, the evening was pretty uneventful. The rodeo was interesting and the concerts were really good. We went back to the hotel in time for last call at the bar and then we went to our respective rooms.

The next day we got up and went to the horse track to watch races.

I think I�ll save that part of the story until next time.

I know the suspense is killing you but this entry is probably too long as it is!

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland