May 19, 2003-6:54 a.m.

Saturday, Beth and I met Bob at our favorite Mexican restaurant, Monica�s Aca y Alla. Bob having just gotten in from Australia had the cab leave him at the restaurant. We thought he would get there after we did. We were in the car in the parking lot trying to figure out how to retrieve the messages from Beth�s cell phone when he walked out of the restaurant and headed toward us. Dinner, as usual, was stellar and the margaritas to die for.

After dinner we headed over to the historic Sons of Hermann Hall for the Hangdogs show. The Lucky Pierres� opened and they were good. Once we got to the Sons, I decided it was time to pace myself a bit since there was a possibility that I might have to drive us home. Bob had been on a plane forever and Beth doesn�t do the freeway so I had one beer there and drank coke or water the rest of the night. Luckily, I chose the path of moderation because neither Beth nor Bob did.

We had seen the Hangdogs several times before but the shows had been at venues where they had played abbreviated sets. They played two sets on Saturday and burned the house down. Beth and Bob bought the band a round of tequila which the lead singer attempted to give Beth tongue for later that night.

Beth got some Save Bubba cards off of me and gave them to members of the band and told them a little about my brother. When we got home and she was scolding me for not being more aggressive in getting the message out to the band, I was forced to tell her about this debacle.

Beth and Bob eventually sloshed on out to the car and I did my designated driver routine. During the trip I think each of us said, �Shut up!� at least a dozen times apiece. Bob spent a good deal of the trip trying to persuade Beth and I that a trip to the Waffle House* was in order. I strenuously objected saying that I want the person who serves my food to have a full set of teeth or at least a reasonable facsimile.

*Who the hell would have expected the Waffle House to have a website? Yep, it�s mighty yellow there!

Now we come to the portion of our story where I apologize for Beth�s drunken ramblings and misleading (huge understatement) bragging about Sa-land!

First of all, I�d like to apologize to these people.

Beth evidently told them that they would be seen by thousands of people on the internet. Sorry folks, tens of people maybe. We didn�t even get their names so when they become enormously famous as a result of appearing here, they�ll be known as �That Unidentified Couple.�

Next up in the Sa-apologizes-for-the-untruths-told-by-friends sweepstakes�The Hangdogs!

Where to start�

  1. Despite my efforts, I wouldn�t exactly say that I am making y�all famous.

  2. No way in hell do I get 10,000 hits a day. Divide that number by 1000 then multiply it by 3 and you�ll probably be in the ballpark.

  3. If you find the bitchy ramblings of short, pre-menopausal, overweight, redheaded women funny, then�okay�I�m downright hilarious.

~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~+~

Check out the link below. Some really great people lost everything they owned, including their dog, to an apartment fire. It�s bad enough to lose your stuff but the loss of a beloved pet is just too much to contemplate. If you would like to help, click the button and find out what you can do.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland