December 07, 2002-8:24 p.m.

I can not say this enough:

Go see "Frida"

I've been a huge fan of Frida Kahlo's work since 1988 (I think that was the year) when the Meadows Museum at SMU had a retrospective of her work. I saw the write-up in the paper and ended up going to the show twice while it was there. She's been my favorites artist since then.

I had read a lot about her life and was wary of a film adaptation but this movie was terrific and I think really captured the artist.

Today, I happened to be spending some time at a recreation center in the Dallas area. While we were waiting for the basketball practice to start, *Um, no. I haven't taken up basketball myself* there were some oriental men in the lobby area playing ping-pong. They play some seriously athletic ping-pong.

The serves were what fascinated me the most. The man serving the ball would very intently raise the ball above his head and then bring it back down slowly as if he were offering it to the gods. Or maybe like David Copperfield trying to levitate the ball. Then he would lightly toss it and I expected him to just slam it across the net but instead he would sort of lightly tap it, flicking it, sort of, with his paddle.

Call me simple *it wouldn't be the first time, I'm sure* but I really enjoyed watching them.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland