October 15, 2002-8:36 p.m.

I know you�re probably all asking yourselves what the hell this image is and why did I decide to preserve it for the future of mankind.

I prefer to think of it as a little window of hope from which I can glean all sorts of insight into the nature of life itself.

It is actually my window. Those are my blinds.

All summer long, I have had Mr. Spider there in the low left-hand corner as a guest on my front porch. Not that I am inordinately fond of insects but once I saw one of the nefarious grasshoppers stuck in his web, he was welcome to stay.

He might have looked like this at one time in his prime:

Today, I came home from work to find that Mr. Mantis, pictured in the first picture sort of in the middle, the green thing, had moved in on Mr. Spider�s turf.

Here is how Mr. Mantis might have looked if I had a half-decent camera:

At first I thought maybe it was some sort of insect standoff and they hadn�t decided which was leaving. The spider was deadly still so I shook the web a little and found that he was, ironically enough, trapped in his own web and unable to move.

When I looked closer at Mr. Mantis, I discovered that he was busily chewing away on one of the spider�s legs he had evidently ripped from the poor creature's body while he was still alive.

I know there�s a metaphor here somewhere.

While I want it to be �Evil creatures get theirs in the end,� or something about being trapped in their own devices, I never thought of the spider as particularly evil so that doesn�t really fit.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland