June 18, 2002-8:56 p.m.

I have become even more painfully aware lately of the glaring amount of stupidity on the planet, in general, and in my workplace, more specifically.

It�s starting to beat me down y�all.

It�s an enormous burden being one of the few people around possessed with a brain and willing to use it.

An example:

Friday, whilst I was home lounging around in my pajamas and whatever the hell else I did that day; there was a raffle at work to raise funds for the employee fund. They put together baskets with Father�s Day-like themes�golf, barbecue, and car care�then they sold tickets to win the baskets.

The trucker�s daughter really wanted the barbeque themed basket.

My supervisor won that basket.

The trucker�s daughter accused her of cheating to get the basket. My supervisor calmly explained to TD that she had bought $20 worth of tickets at 3 for $2 thus making her odds of winning higher than that of TD who in all likelihood purchased one ticket.

My supervisor had to leave her desk for some reason and left the basket there. When she returned, it was gone. In yet another stunning display of astute business sense and unfathomable maturity, TD had taken the basket and hidden it under the desk of one of her team members, letting everyone within earshot know that my supervisor had cheated and was therefore undeserving of the basket.

When her subterfuge was discovered, TD tried unsuccessfully to fall back on her old standby, �I was just kidding.� My supervisor is pregnant and not having an easy go of it. Combine that with an unbridled hesitancy to �play that shit� and I think you begin to get the picture.

She told TD in no uncertain terms that her behavior was unacceptable, that she had belittled my supervisor in front of TD�s team by accusing her of cheating and involved the entire team in her prank thus disrupting their productivity. She even went so far as to involve the trucker�s daughter�s supervisor.

I�m of a mind to start a pool, with the proceeds going to the employee fund, you would buy a ticket and then bet on which event you think will occur first�a) the trucker�s daughter will finally see the light and stop acting like an complete imbecile, or�b) stern disciplinary actions will be taken against her.

I haven�t worked out what the prizes would consist of yet so if you have any ideas�by all means let me know!

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland