May 27, 2002-12:31 p.m.

Today is Memorial Day.

The inevitable references to September 11th abound.

I am among the throngs of people who mourn the victims of that fateful day.

I am left here trying to reconcile my feelings of extreme sadness at the loss of those victims and the grief of their families with my immense anger at the government for ignoring what we are now finding out were numerous credulous warnings.

This was particularly disturbing�warnings from two friendly Arab countries that Al Qaeda had plans for terrorist attacks within the continental United States involving aircraft in the late summer/early fall of 2001. Taken with this letter from an FBI agent in Minnesota detailing the roadblocks she encountered trying to investigate Zacarias Moussaoui, the alleged 20th hijacker, it begins to paint a picture of extreme arrogance or systematic incompetence.

I realize that the mere discussion of such things makes me unpatriotic in the eyes of the administration and their lackeys but I think it�s time they dispensed with the smoke and mirrors and discussed what exactly they knew and when they knew it. There needs to be an accounting for these sorts of mistakes so that tragedies like this can be avoided in the future.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland