October 25, 2001-8:54 p.m.

Today in Sa-land our theme is workplace fashion�again!

I don�t know whether I�ve mentioned it or not but the trucker�s daughter has an inordinate number of t-shirt suits *that�s what I call them anyway* in her wardrobe. These outfits consist of a t-shirt top with some sort of decoration on it, usually involving glitter and/or fabric paint, and matching pants made of the same fabric. They remind me of nothing so much as pajamas. She has a veritable rainbow of t-shirt suits. She has taken lately to wearing them with orthopedic-looking sandal slides, some of the most hideous footwear on the planet.

I was telling my sister about this apparel, *this is how you'll know we're related* and she said, "So what you're saying is that she has a closet full of $12 outfits?"

Today, she had on her red t-shirt suit with the flag design on the top. Very patriotic. She was also wearing black fingerless gloves, claiming that her hands were cold and that caused the tendonitis/carpel tunnel she maintains she has but no doctor can find, to flare up. She�s now added a copper bracelet to the vast array of items she has devoted to this problem (braces, the gloves, ergonomic keyboard, etc.) I see her go by in this get-up and all I can think is, �Gee, if she put on a red ball nose and painted her face white, she�d be ready for Halloween!� Dodo the Clown!

On my way back from the breakroom this morning, I saw a woman in the elite client services area dressed in a short denim dress with some sort of wide belt cinching her waist. When she bought this dress in the 1980�s, I�m sure it fit fine but, honey, that was twenty years ago. She has paired this with a pair of snakeskin stiletto heels. She looked like a parody and again, not inappropriate for Halloween.

The fifty-year-old street walker graced us with a black mini skirt and a black floral print blazer, again not out of place in the 1980�s. I�m beginning to wonder if there isn�t something in the pre-employment testing that is slanted toward the hire of the inappropriately dressed contingent of the workforce. We do seem to get more than our fair share of them.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland