September 17, 2001-9:03 p.m.

Today in Sa-land: Workplace Karma in Action!

The prot�g� was sick today but on the job nonetheless, emulating her current mentor, the trucker�s daughter.

At least I assume she was sick.

I noticed several times from the corner of my eye that she had her head on her desk. She was moaning intermittently but since she sort of grunts along with her CD player, and will loudly say �Hmm� in response to her radio, I didn�t think it was any cause for alarm.

Nor, apparently, did anyone else. No one asked what was wrong or if she was okay.

No one. Not a single person. Nobody. Nadie.

She was forced to walk over to the supervisor�s desk and whine about a headache in a blatant attempt to garner sympathy. I wouldn�t doubt it if she went so far as to lay her head down on her desk, as well. The supervisor responded by asking her if she had taken anything for it.

Fortunately for all involved, she decided not to return to work once she left for lunch.

As an aside, she spends her lunch hour driving across town to pick her fifteen-year-old daughter up from school and take her home because she doesn�t want her riding the school bus.

Today, I guess this journey was just too much for her.

As you may know, since I told my prot�g� to use her resources, she hasn�t been asking me questions but instead has been dependent upon the trucker�s daughter for information.

Today at lunch, the trucker�s daughter caught herself trying to complain to my assistant that she is making quality errors on her work due to the fact that my prot�g� is always bothering her.

�Now you know how Sa felt.�

Undoubtedly not the response the trucker�s daughter was looking for. After all, she�s only had to endure the unique hell that is my prot�g� for a little over a month, now and thanks to my candor, the version she�s left to deal with is �Prot�g� Lite.�

Hardly as arduous an ordeal as I faced, but fun to observe, anyway. Especially unbearable is the saccharine tone she employs when answering the prot�g�s questions. I get the feeling that it is intended as much for me as for the prot�g�. I respond by putting on my headphones and turning the volume up.

I anticipate with the glee watching the trucker�s daughter try and extricate herself from this situation with some semblance of grace.

Not gonna happen.

I know.

But it might make for interesting copy.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland