September 12, 2001-8:27 p.m.

Today in Sa-land: Anger. Some of it undoubtedly misplaced. Lots and lots of anger.

I don�t really even know where to start. I�m a little anxious because I�m sure that my views may be offensive to some and y�all know that I crave popularity above all other things.

That having been said. . . .

I am angry that this horrible thing has happened.

I am angry that somewhere in the world this was cause for celebration.

I am angry to think that some will use this incident as an excuse for bigotry and persecution of people no more responsible for this horror than you or I, simply based on their attire or religious persuasion.

I am especially angry (and this will be the unpopular part) that rather than use this as an opportunity to reflect on how our arrogance and fickle foreign policies may have been in some part to blame for this disaster and how we should probably rethink a lot of things we�ve taken for granted, many people would rather wrap themselves in the American flag and bomb someone into oblivion.

I support flying the flags at half-mast. I�m proud to be an American and consider myself as patriotic as the next person but today, I felt assaulted by the stars and stripes.

They passed out paper flags today at work along with a memo instructing us to sign our names and write our thoughts on them and then turn them in to our supervisor so that they could be placed on display in the lobby. Later we received an email letting us know that Friday would, in addition to being �Jeans Day,� also be �Red, White and Blue Day� allowing us to show our support for the good ole USA.

I wanted to scream, �We didn�t just win the goddamn Olympics here, people! Thousands of people lost their lives! Waving the flag and dressing up like it�s the Fourth of July is not going to make me feel any better about that!�

Yep. Lots of anger in Sa-land.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland