September 01, 2001-8:33 p.m.

Today in Sa-land---Sa throws a hissy fit at work or prot�g� attempts to exact revenge!

You may recall that the relations between my prot�g� and myself have been tense since I suggested some weeks ago that she use her considerable resources (in the form of sticky-notes completely framing her monitor, desk drawers full of printouts, notes pinned to the wall, etc) instead of asking me the same question 20 times a day.

Wednesday everyone was working on what is principally the job of my prot�g�. I stayed later than usual and still had some work left. Because my assistant and I had been spoken to harshly by the supervisor for not turning in our remaining work the day before, I decided that the best course of action would be for me to return this work to the prot�g� before I left. So I gave her my remaining three pieces of work. She gave me some attitude, which I returned in kind.

Thursday morning when I arrived, these same three pieces were on my desk with a note from the prot�g� saying that she hadn�t had time to get to them yet she had been there for nearly two hours that morning and had already gone on to the next day�s work. I was livid. I went to the supervisor�s desk with this package and she kept the note and told me to go ahead and finish that and start on my own work. I told her I wanted to be moved away from the prot�g� and she said she would think about it.

I went back to my desk and confronted my prot�g� and she said that she had asked the second in command about it and had been told that if we were all going to be doing that work again then it didn�t matter who did it. I couldn�t believe that she had said this but she evidently did and now wanted to be considered out of the fray. To my mind the way to have done that would have been to keep her mouth shut or tell the prot�g� to ask our supervisor when she got in but what the hell do I know?

After a few more discussions about whether I would be allowed to move (�I like you here by me�) and witness testimony about the prot�g�s extreme lack of professionalism when I left the work with her, the supervisor conceded that she would have to have a talk with her. Whether this actually occurred or not, I don�t know.

Friday, whilst driving to work, I decided that now that the gloves were off, there was no reason why I should have to continue to look at this hideous item that was given to me by my prot�g�.

Protege's Gift

I never liked this thing but she seemed to think it was artistic (�I know you like artistic things�) so I put it on the wall at work (I would never consider inviting it into my home). I wonder if it was the astronomical/astrological theme that made her think this garage sale leftover looking piece of trash was artistic or what? My plan was to leave it in her chair but she was sitting in her chair when I arrived so I went with Plan B which involved waiting until she left her desk and ripping the damned thing off of the wall and throwing it under my desk where it remains.

So now I wait for her to notice and comment. If and when that ever happens, I plan to casually drag it out from beneath my desk with my foot.

�Oh, this thing?� I ask giving it a little nudge with my toe. She immediately dissolves into tears while I laugh tauntingly.

Or

I reach under my desk and fling it at her like one of those ninja star thingies, lodging it in her heart. In her dying moments, she frantically grabs at the things on her desk in an effort to delay the end she know is coming. She comes to rest on the floor in a pool of blood surrounded by dozens of yellow smiley face items pulled from her desk and made all the more sunnily yellow in contrast against the red of her blood. I turn nonchalantly and return to my work.

Hey, it could happen!

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland