2001-08-12-8:01 p.m.

Today in Sa-land: Things Overheard at the Salon!

It helps if you keep in mind that our setting is Texas. Small-town Texas. Close enough to Dallas, though, to give some delusions of cosmopolitanism.

This morning I had an appointment to get my hair done at a new place. Same hairdresser, new salon. I�m completely anal about my hair. It grows like weeds so I have it cut every two weeks and colored every four weeks because I am not going to be having me some roots showing. So anyway, I go to this new salon and I have to wait for a little while because Amy is doing someone�s nails. The other employees of the salon are having a spirited discussion about what I can�t remember now but one the employees keeps punctuating her reverie with �giiiiiiiirrrrrrrrrl� or maybe it was more like �g-earl.� She probably said that a good thirty times in the hour and a half that I spent in the salon.

Another time I was at the salon and there was a girl there with some little girls obviously having her hair done for her wedding. At least I assume that is what she was doing. I can�t think of another reason why she would have a big organdy bow tied around her head like one of those bow-things they make unfortunate female babies wear as a gender identification device.

She makes a call on her cell phone to the groom to be with whom she had evidently been cohabitating. The conversation goes some thing like this:

�Baby. What did you do last night? He stayed at OUR house? Why couldn�t he go to his house? You JUST got up? I can�t believe this, baby. This is our wedding day. You don�t even have the vehicle washed and cleaned up? I am SO disappointed in you, baby. Baby,I cannot believe that you would do this to me on our WEDDING DAY!!� It went on and on.

I particularly enjoyed the way she kept calling him �baby� even though she was so mad she was spitting nails. Then she went on and on about what a loser his friend was and another woman there advised her to wait until she was married and then make her husband dump the friend. I felt sorry for the unfortunate groom. You know he�s whipped.

After that I would see her from time to time in the salon and that phone call would always echo through my mind---followed immediately by an amused smirk.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland