2001-07-26-9:24 p.m.

Today in our weekly meeting at work, they introduced the insurance company version of a greeting card company holiday by announcing that next Friday would be �Celebrating Friendship Day� (or some such nonsense). In order to commemorate this day and as a fundraiser, the entertainment committee will be selling two helium-filled balloons tied together with a bag of candy attached and a card that you can fill out and have delivered to your friend(s). Fine. Great. I�m all on board with �Celebrating Friendship Day.� Woo Hoo!

I returned to my desk with no intentions of acknowledging the day, whatsoever. Immediately upon our return, my prot�g� allows as to how she is expecting balloons from me, as she will be buying me some because she considers us to be friends. Okie dokie.

�Why don�t you just buy yourself some? It would be the same difference.�

I do everything within my power to send a clear signal at all times. Because I am clever and sarcastic and that is sometimes humorous, people often tend not to pick up on my underlying displeasure. It isn�t until I say something especially caustic that they catch on and even then it is sometimes mistaken for a joke.

I suppose I could experiment with more effective means of making my displeasure known but you know, I�m in my forties now and somewhat set in my ways and I�d rather just write off the people who don�t get it as clueless dolts then spend anymore of my time trying to help them see the light.

I guess I�m just selfish like that.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland