2001-07-04-4:39 p.m.

Today I celebrated our nation�s independence by sleeping until noon.

I was up past midnight last night working on my website and then my friend from the east coast called. It seems that her new job as an art instructor is not going as well as she had thought it would.

She thought that she would be teaching art (which she loves and does well). Instead, after a week of training, which consisted of what I don�t know, she has found herself to be a clerk/indentured slave to the director. My friend found herself filing, stapling papers and moving things to a storage facility. The director is evidently an extremely disorganized and flighty woman, despite having established a reputation as an artist in that region.

My friend did get to help install an exhibition and when she expressed dismay over the lackluster and some what shoddy appearance of some placards she herself had made, saying that she guessed that she was �just anal like that,� the director actually gasped and told her that they didn�t use that word�ever. When my friend tried to explain that �anal retentive� is a phrase that is used in all sorts of psychiatric journals as well as in the popular lexicon and of course, she would never consider using it within earshot of the students, she was greeted with yet more apoplectic gasping.

Today's Lesson: It doesn�t really matter where you work, at least one of your coworkers is going to be some kind of weirdo freak.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland