June 29, 2004-6:14 a.m.

My new team at work is situated right across the wall from what are called the �hotel desks.� The hotel desks are the desks reserved for telecommuters who have to come back into the office due to system problems or problems with their high-speed internet.

Yesterday, the hotel desks were visited by a man with legendary powers of annoyance. He has always reminded me of Foghorn Leghorn except perhaps not as smart.

Foghorn came into the office yesterday because he was having an email problem at home. He didn�t give the IS staff a chance to call him and perhaps solve his issue over the phone and save him a trip into the office. Nope. Just jumped into his compact sedan and drove on over completely unexpected like.

The poor IS staff had to scramble around and get him set up in the hotel desk and then he asks if they can get his favorites for him and they have to explain that unless he saved them to his remote drive, the favorites are housed on his home machine. Jeez. You�d think as many times as we have to move desks at that place, he would have gotten that one down by now.

Foghorn is really a loud person, too. He spent all morning on the phone talking to one of his coworkers walking them through some spreadsheet. All I could think was �Why don�t you go over to that person�s house and explain it!�

I found out from IS that Foghorn�s ticket had been closed at 10:30. I was all excited that he would be leaving soon and I would be able to hear myself think for the first time in hours when I overheard him calling the nationwide IS helpdesk and telling them that he still had this problem despite his ticket having been closed.

From what I could hear (every single word), they walked him through his problem with the email. He then asked them if they could fix some macro problem on that machine.

I bit my tongue in two trying to keep from shouting, �Go home, you stupid moron! Your damned macros will work great there.�

I also got the feeling, unconfirmed of course, that part of this was some sort of display of his claims prowess. Like he was there strutting his stuff for us lowly office folk, oblivious to the fact that we all think he�s an idiot.

You know you've missed these work rants!

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland