May 18, 2004-6:13 a.m.

This is a rant of sorts.

I have a friend at work with whom I eat lunch.

We have a couple of mutual friends (perhaps not the right word) that I meet for lunch on occasion. These friends no longer work in our building but still work for the same company. In the past, we have all gotten together for lunches and drawn names for Christmas, etc.

After having to cancel the Christmas drawing because this friend complained about the cost ($15) and having to pick up a portion of her lunch never to be repaid, we�ve sort of stopped including her. Not to mention that when she has come, she monopolizes the conversation and it�s all about her. Also she never communicates with these friends because she is so busy at work that she can�t just sit around all day emailing people, even though she finds plenty of time to send me stupid religious emails about angels and crap that I�ve asked her not to send me.

As a courtesy, I let this person know when I will not be eating lunch in the building. When I tell her that I�m having lunch with either of these other people she asks me why I didn�t invite her. Why I don�t just drag her slacker ass along with me. After several months of this, I tried to explain to her that it is not my responsibility to keep these friendships alive and she needs to put forth some effort of her own.

Yesterday, I sent her an IM telling her that I was going out for lunch.

    Sa: I�m going out to lunch.

    Clueless: I brought salad. With who?

    Sa: Michelle

    Clueless: Where are you going?

    Sa: Olive Garden

    C: What time?

    Sa: 11

    C: Why so early

    Sa: No crowd

    C: There�s no crowd at 1 *our regular lunchtime*

    Sa: Call Michelle and ask her.

    Sa: xxx-xxx-xxxx

Needless to say, she didn�t call and she sent me an IM at 11:24:

    C: I have to pass�.going to the girls school.

I couldn�t believe it! �I have to pass�

Hello?

I guess it escaped your attention that you weren�t fucking invited!

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland