December 10, 2003-8:25 p.m.

Tonight I opened the bottle of Patron Silver that Larry gave me for Thanksgiving.

Ah, yes, the gift of tequila.

This should perhaps be a work rant but . . .

I had an interview yesterday with the employer of one of my sisters. I�m not really sure how it went. I know that I am majorly qualified for the position, I�m just a little unsure of the interview.

Have I mentioned how bitterly I hate interviewing?

I�m really apprehensive about that and worried about what will happen after the first of the year. On the other hand, if I got that job and my six weeks severance pay I could get me a new computer and pay off some bills.

So that�s my frame of mind.

I overheard some stuff yesterday afternoon that lead me to believe that they would be extending the employment of those of us who are �affected� (corporate speak for doomed for eventual lay-off). Today I heard some things that reinforced that so I wasted no time in scheduling my remaining two vacation days. If I were to be laid off at the end of the year, those vacation days would translate into additional cash.

The supervisors were going back and forth about this and trying to be all cryptic and stuff but you know, they�d have to speak an entirely different language for me not to be able to figure out what�s being discussed. If there�s a person on this earth who can put two and two together, it�s our Sa.

They�ve also been having some discussions about bonuses.

In my present state of mind, I am completely convinced that I will, once again, be screwed over by this process. I hesitate to call it paranoid as those fears have been justified in so many cases.

Next, I get an email stating that we will be having a team luncheon tomorrow at Jason�s Deli. The supervisors were turned down when they asked to have to luncheon paid for by the company and we won�t get down time so we�ll have to make up our time spent at the luncheon in excess of our normal lunch period. But there will be gift bags and some important information disseminated at the luncheon! Give me mine at work because I sure as heck am not going to a luncheon full of people I can barely stand, and pay for my own lunch in exchange for a bag of stupid toys bought at Oriental Trading and a candy cane. What the hell are people thinking?!?

I was going to skip lunch today to make up for the time I missed interviewing yesterday but I was in such a state that I had to leave my desk for a while.

Sure enough, when I got back we had the meeting where they told us that our employment has been extended until a date sometime in the first quarter of 2004. Really. No specific date was on the documentation�just an assurance that we would be notified 60 days prior to our termination date.

What kind of crap is that?

So I�m here praying to be hired by my sister�s company but completely pessimistic about my chances at anything and guzzling tequila.

I've changed my cell phone ringer to "You're a Mean One Mr Grinch." Seemed apropos somehow.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland