June 03, 2003-6:06 a.m.

The meltdown.

Our team is piloting a new software program that will do away with a lot of the paper we now have. Instead of receiving the claims and other information via paper, we receive an image of the paper along with a payment screen and a comments system. Once the kinks are out, I�m sure it will be great!

The people in my vicinity haven�t spent much time working with the new system outside of training. Whiny and I haven�t spent any time outside of training working on the new system.

Whiny is also very behind on her work and I�m having to help her out.

Y�all know how excited that makes me, right?

She comes in and they tell her she has to work on this new system for two hours. There is a place when you first sign onto the system where you can change your password. Whiny�s neighbor encourages her not to change this password now but to wait until later.

I think we can all guess what happened next.

That�s right! She tried to change the password and locked her self out! This is when the sniffling started. She sat at her desk and sniffled for a little while and then she got up and left the area. Later we found out she had been trolling the building for sympathy.

When she finally got back to her desk, she was still crying so N/OS took her into a conference room for a private chat during which more crying ensued. I don�t know what was said in the conference room but Whiny returned to her desk for still more sniffling.

Later N/OS tried to persuade me to be sympathetic towards Whiny by saying that Whiny thinks everyone thinks she�s an idiot.

And your point would be. . . ?

�You don�t know what her life is like at home.�

You don�t know what my life is like at home! I�ve got a lot of stress, too. My brother is very ill. My parents are getting on in years.

�Her daughter is telling them where they have to live.�

Since when is the fact that you let a thirteen-year-old girl run your life a work-related issue? Oh and good luck getting another house with your sorry-ass credit. I think mortgage companies tend to frown on hot checks and missed payments.

N/OS ended up giving Whiny an hour off production time for the incident. Can you say enabler? Plus, she distracted everyone around her and we didn�t get any special compensation for it.

Later in the afternoon, Whiny was still sniffling only this time it was allergy-related. It about drove the girl next to her mad. She went from desk to desk to see if anyone had any cold remedy for Whiny, only to find out that Whiny had some in her purse but hadn�t thought to take it.

I don�t know why but people tend to think I�m exaggerating when I tell them about Whiny�s hijinks. Her neighbor, however, is no longer in that category.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland