March 16, 2003-9:20 a.m.

It�s been a rough couple of days, y�all.

I�ve been consumed with the creation of the Save Bubba page which, by the way, you can go to via the cool Save Bubba button over there on your right. You can also get you one of them cool buttons for your own self there. We still don�t have Pay Pal working yet but you can buy t-shirts and ball caps to support the cause, if you like.

Friday was a day from hell in every single way possible. Work was extra stressful. Daddy was supposed to get the bank account set up. My sister-in-law called me at work to tell me that the cardiologist had finally recommended someone to do the heart transplant evaluation but because Bubba doesn�t have insurance, this doctor wants several thousand dollars up front.

About that time, M&D showed up at Bubba�s house. Daddy had called them earlier to get Bubba�s social security number. He dropped mom off at the library and then went over to the bank and opened an account. We thought it had been made clear to Daddy that Bubba wanted a checking account and he wanted his wife to be a signatory so that they could write checks at the doctor�s office. Daddy opened a savings account that only he can access.

When my sister-in-law called and told me, I almost started crying right there at my desk. There are no words to describe my level of frustration at that point.

I got home and decided to pretend that I didn�t know anything about the bank account. Daddy comes over to me with a folder from the bank and says,

�Here I opened the bank account. Now you can stop bitching at me.�

�I haven�t been bitching at you.�

�Well, you left me a to do list.�

�What about the other item on that list?� *find pictures of Bubba�s cars*

He went into his bedroom and came out with three huge boxes of pictures and put them down in a kitchen chair saying, �Here�s all the pictures I have, I�m sure there are some you can use in there somewhere.�

�I�m not going through all of those.�

�You think I am?�

�Evidently not.�

We also had words over the practicality of opening a savings account that only he has access to especially since he is frequently out of town.

I came home and cried my eyes out. I called Larry and he was able to talk me down and get me back on focus. So after I had the couple of slugs of tequila and a beer he suggested, I went back to working on the site.

Saturday, I was up by 7am. I made some last minute adjustments to the site and worked on designing the t-shirts and caps so I could get Bub�s approval on those. He had been a bit hesitant at first but once he saw them, he was cool with the idea. I took Daddy�s bank info back over to him and low and behold, he had gone through those pictures and come up with some we could use. At that time, I thought I was finished adding pictures but I took them anyway to show Bubba in case he wanted them on the site.

I got a flexible spending account check in the mail on Friday. Friday night I decided that if Daddy wouldn�t change the bank account to be like Bubba wanted, then I would use that money and open an account that would be what Bubba wanted. I didn�t relish the thought of telling Daddy this, however.

I went to the mall to look for something to wear to the concert and get a birthday gift for a friend at work. After I finished with that shopping, I went over to Bubba�s house and got him and my sister-in-law and took them over to her mother�s house so that I could show them the website and run the merchandise past Bubba.

He okayed the caps and shirts and had a few things he wanted changed on the website including adding one of Daddy�s pictures. I took them back to their house and went to Wal-mart to get my shopping done. I came home and steeled myself to tell Daddy about the bank account. My mom and me always eat dinner at the kitchen table. Daddy eats in the living room in front of the TV. I told Mom about the impending discussion with Daddy and so after dinner, she went and hid outside.

No one was more surprised that I was by the outcome of our discussion. Sure Daddy was mad at first and yelling a little but I didn�t let him bait me and I remained calm and never raised my voice but tried to reason with him calmly. We talked for about thirty minutes but once we finished, he had agreed to see about changing the account on Monday and I agreed to keep him more in the loop about what is going on instead of telling Mom and thinking she�ll tell him.

So today, I�m going to the concert and hand out my Save Bubba cards and try to have some fun for a change. I won�t be home tonight, so hopefully this�ll hold you until tomorrow night and I�ll catch up with you then.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland