February 25, 2003-7:06 p.m.

In case anyone has been wondering where I�ve been the last day or so, I offer up this evidence.

That�s right, y�all.

Ice, snow and all of the accoutrements right here in Texas!

This stuff started yesterday afternoon and by the time I left work, it was starting to get bad. As luck would have it, every idiot and their relatives and pets were out on the roads. It took me three hours to get from Plano to McKinney on 75. People, this is a ten mile trip at best. McKinney isn�t even halfway home for me. Luckily one of my sisters lives there so I was able to stay there for the night.

I spent an enormous amount of time trying to get up to an intersection where I could turn off and get to my sister�s apartment. When I got to the light, I discovered that what had traffic snarled was some moron in a Camaro or Trans Am (what�s the difference?), in the left lane just past the intersection with its emergency flashers on, stuck and unable to go any farther.

Every once in a while the person would gun the engine and fishtail it a little bit.

So much for your muscle car there, dude.

Try putting it in low and easing off of the gas.

Truthfully, the roads weren�t that bad. The trouble is that most Texans don�t know how to drive in this weather but they�re not going to let a technicality like that stop them.

I got up this morning and headed out for home. The usual thirty-minute trip took me a little over an hour but I got here without incident. I was determined to get out there and get home before too many people got the same idea and packed all of that snow/sleet into sheets of slippery untraversable ice.

Now that I�m here, I�m just going to sit around catching up on reading and sleeping and look out my window at sights like this until it thaws out.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland