September 14, 2002-5:18 p.m.

Yesterday was a day from hell.

Straight from hell.

No detours.

No passing Go to collect $200.

As I�m sitting at my desk catching up on my favorite diaries during my break yesterday afternoon, my former supervisor comes to my desk and asks me to accompany her to a nearby conference room.

*sigh*

Sa: �Okay�

FS: �What�s wrong with you?�

Does she really think that I don�t know what this is about? I know I signed all of her stupid weeklies showing that I was not meeting my production goals. On the last one, I wrote �under duress� underneath my signature. This little talk is going to be about my monthly which I already know that I�ve failed and because she�s already put me on verbal warning, she�s probably about to put me on written warning.

Sa: �I was on my break�

FS: �You�re such a smartass. I love you. You�re my favorite.�

*puke*

On the way over to the conference room she tells me that new supe has been bragging about how well we�ve been doing since we went to his team.

Sa: �Mmm�

FS: �So what�s changed? How are y�all doing so much better?�

Sa: *dismissively* �I don�t know.�

We get to the room and go in and sit down.

FS: �So do you miss me?�

*silence*

She pulls out the folder to tell me about my monthly results. Still not hitting the goal but 100% quality. Then we get to the performance management portion of our show.

FS: �You were on verbal for your production last month and even though you didn�t meet your goal in August and by corporate guidelines we should move you to a written warning, we�ve decided not to do that since you made such an improvement over last month. What we�re going to do instead is extend the verbal warning another month and if you meet your production goal for September, it will drop off of your record.�

I guess she thought I was going to jump out of my chair and fall at her feet, kissing them and singing her praises on high or something.

I don�t know.

One thing we do all know for sure, though, is that I didn�t thank her for the magnanimous gesture of not imposing stricter discipline upon me when, if they�d count everything I do, I would meet the goal.

FS: �So what are you doing differently now?� Why is there such a difference?�

Sa: *exasperated* �We�re counting this like this�

FS: *indignantly* �Well you shouldn�t be counting it like that.�

Sa: �It�s not like I�m not working�

FS: �No one ever said you weren�t working or weren�t doing your job.�

Sa: *completely over the shit now* �The fact that document exists says I�m not doing my job. The fact that it exists says I�m not working.�

FS: �Well, blah, blah blah. . .�

Sa: �You know what? It�s over now. Let�s go.�

We ran into Big T when we came out of the room and once I was away from there, she went all over him about how things should be counted and how I treated her in our conference.

Um. You are a supervisor and you�ve just reprimanded me. What the hell were you expecting? You knew it wasn�t going to be a freaking lovefest when you went in there; otherwise you wouldn�t have put it off for so long. If you�re that thin-skinned, maybe management isn�t the place for you.

Grrrrrrrrr!

Big T comes by my desk and gives me the imploring puppy dog eyes. He asks me if I need to vent in future to come and find him and we�ll go in a conference room and I can vent on him all day long. I guess it escapes him that I couldn�t very well have told FS to wait while I went and got him.

I let him know that her tone was accusatory and I didn�t appreciate it so we had to go and talk to our manager and they�re going to look into the way things are being done and get back with me.

Big T: �Could you do me a favor and write FS an apology email?�

Sa: �What specifically should I be apologizing for? Did she say?�

Big T: �Just do it for me and could you turn that red [referring to my hair and the accompanying fiery temper] down a notch or two?�

I went back to my desk and composed this email:

FS,

I�m sorry I snapped at you earlier.

Sa

She sent back some saccharine reply that doesn�t even merit repeating and hopefully now that whole episode is over.

In happier news, my friends Beth and Bob and I are going out tomorrow afternoon the see my favorite band the Hangdogs do a live radio broadcast/mini-concert at a local restaurant/bar.

I�m very excited and after yesterday, you can bet I�ll be getting my drink on.

There�d better be plenty of Shiner Bock in the house!

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland