August 27, 2002-8:53 p.m.

Today we return to an old subject�cheeriness!

To be more specific�my absolute and complete lack of cheeriness in the work place.

I understand that people want to see shiny happy people all of the time.

And, you know, in a perfect world I�m sure their wish would be granted. This world, the one we live in now is far from perfect, though. I think it�s unrealistic and downright delusional to expect people to be happy all of the time�especially at work.

You might wonder what has gotten my dander up. I�ll tell you. I was forced to sign yet another weekly report in which I wasn�t meeting my goal because they don�t count all of my work. This was shortly after they fired someone on another team and my supervisor had been the one to pack up that person�s desk. I asked her if she was going to use these weeklies as an excuse to pack up my desk and walk me out the door and she said, �You�re so funny.�

I�m completely paranoid now.

I spoke with Big T (who will be my supervisor starting next week) and he just wasn�t very reassuring. He said they were going to be looking at eliminating some of the extra stuff that I do now and I was forced to point out to him that there was nowhere else people could go for the answers. He seemed like he was just trying to put a big happy face on everything and that, of course, was the last thing I wanted. What I wanted was some reassurance that eventually I�d get a fair shake and I SO didn�t come away with that.

Vague Platitudes.

That�s what I got.

Vague Platitudes™

Has a certain ring to it (thus the trademarking).

Vague Platitudes™--the new book by Sa!

And now ladies and gentlemen�the Vague Platitudes™

Okay.

I�m distracted now.

That�s almost as good as being cheery, isn�t it?

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland