January 18, 2002-6:15 a.m.

Today in Sa-land�Geeky Validation!

I finally tired of waiting forever for things to scan and having the scanner lock up my whole system so I went online and ordered myself some more RAM and while I was there I got myself a CD-RW drive as well.

My sister holds a job as an IS person and works on computers for a living. She owes me a favor or two so I coerced her into agreeing to install these new computer parts. She was to come over on Saturday afternoon to accomplish this task.

The parts arrived in the mail Tuesday. Patience is evidently not one of my major character assets because by Wednesday evening I was really itching to have everything installed.

I came home from work and convinced myself that not only am I as smart as my sister, but I can read and follow directions as well as the next person and I change my own oil and I know how to weld and after all how hard could this stuff be.

So not without a little trepidation, I opened the computer case fully expecting all hell to break loose.

Nothing happened.

On a side note, how in the hell does all of that dust get inside the computer? It was like an entire dust mite universe in there.

At this point, I read the directions and installed the memory. Piece of cake. The CD drive was a little more daunting because I had to try and figure out how to hook up all of the drives (I have DVD-ROM, floppy, and zip drives in addition to the new drive) and configure the master/slave relationship so that they would work properly.

I�ll freely admit that this took longer than it probably should have taken for a person of my intellectual capacity. I also had to take one of the other drives out and put it into another slot so that all of the cords would reach.

I got everything back together and discovered that they had not included a cord to connect the new drive to the soundboard. I made a wasted trip into town to Wal-Mart to see if by some fortuitous quirk of fate they carried these cords but alas, no.

So I put everything back together and decided to test it out but the hard drive wasn�t being detected. I called my sister she said it was probably due to the fact that I had the CD drive that was connected to the hard drive set as a master instead of a slave. That was indeed the problem.

I went into work yesterday and went to the IS department to ask the geeks there what I would ask for in the computer store to get the correct cord and one of them just gave me one out of his desk!

I came home, hooked that up, tested it and put the case back on the computer. Am I just the shit or what?

Computer innovations accomplished, I went online and did Larry�s income taxes thus marking the transition from Geeky Techno Sa back to Dutiful Sa.

It was an interesting little detour and a validation of sorts. I hope I�ll be able to control the swelling in my head!

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland