November 18, 2001-9:44 p.m.

Today in Sa-land�A tale of some former neighbors.

As preposterous as this tale may seem, it is indeed true. A man who worked for a major department store doing appliance repair and his family rented the house on the property next to us. He and his wife had three daughters, the oldest looked to be about twelve years old. At some point the wife left the family and he was left to raise the girls alone.

At the time the event I am about to describe to you occurred, my dad had been retired for a little while but my mom was still working. Ever since he has retired my dad has had a business of one sort or another that he has operated out of his home. Because of this, he is normally home during the day.

One day while my dad was home doing whatever it is he did during the day, one of the girls from the next place over came running over asking if he could come to their house and help her sister. Once my dad was able to calm her down, she told him that her sister had a fork stuck in the bottom of her foot.

Daddy went over to their house and found the girl lying on the couch crying. Evidently, the house was in such disarray that a fork had found its way to the floor and been stepped upon by the girl thus lodging itself in her foot. He went over and quickly pulled the fork out of her foot, gave her some first aid tips and came back home.

Approximately a month later, the girl�s father came over to my dad�s house. He wanted to know who owned these dogs. *Gee buddy, you see them right here, obviously we own them.* It seems his daughters had told him that they had seen our dogs out by their garden and something was eating his tomatoes so he made a leap.

Obviously, this man has never owned a dog. The only way any of these dogs would eat a tomato is if you dipped it in chocolate first. Then they would lick all of the chocolate off and spit out the remaining tomato. In all likelihood, birds were eating his tomatoes.

This what the man said to my dad:

�I want to thank you for pulling the fork out of my daughter�s foot. I really appreciate it. If you don�t mind, I�d like to ask if you could keep your dogs from eating my tomatoes. My daughters said they have seen these dogs around my garden.�

One has to wonder at the logic of alienating the only person at home during the day when you are leaving your daughters home alone all summer long.

I know.

I�ve lived long enough now to know that logic rarely applies in real life.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland