November 11, 2001-9:40 p.m.

Sunday night in Sa-land.

Tonight, not unlike Lara in this entry, I watched a portion of a television program which I now wish I could say I had never seen.

I normally don�t watch television. It�s not like I�m a snob or anything. It just never occurs to me that I may find anything of interest there. It seems the shows I used to watch have all gone to hell in a hand basket and nothing new has really piqued my interest.

Tonight was unusual on another front in that I found myself in the kitchen preparing food without the aid of the microwave or a can opener. I know. I can hardly believe it myself.

I usually eat at my mom�s house next door but she and my dad have completely selfishly left me here alone, with two demanding dogs and a temperamental cat, for three weeks. Which reminds me, I need to go over there and water her plants before half of them die like the last time they were left in my care.

Anyway, while I was cooking, I decided I might as well turn the television on and see if I could catch up on current events and/or pop culture. While flipping through the stations, I hit upon �The Weakest Link.� I�ve had the unfortunate luck to have been compared to the host of this program on more than one occasion, so I figured it behooved me to at least give it a cursory glance.

I now find myself trying to figure out whether this comparison was meant as a compliment. I�m going to continue on the premise that it was. We do have a few striking similarities.

    1. We both have one-syllable names. Anne. Sa.

    2. We both have reddish hair worn in a short style.

    3. We both wear glasses. Mine are way cooler. I go for the geek-chic look. *I just coined that phrase�geek-chic and it rhymes! Am I not the coolest 43 year-old woman on the planet or what? Quiet Ms. M!*

      *Update: It seems I didn't coin that phrase. Lara says she's been using it for quite some time. The fact that my ancient-out-of-touch 43-year-old ass was cool enough to use it ought to count for something, though!*

    4. We are both somewhat clever and sarcastic.

That is where the similarities end.

She has a haughty British accent while I have a cute *it is too cute, y�all* Texas accent.

She gets paid whatever exorbitant amount she gets paid to be snotty on TV while I get paid the pittance that I get paid to try not to be snotty (with varying degrees of success) at the insurance company.

We aren�t at all alike. We�re not. We really aren�t!

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland