October 04, 2001-9:22 p.m.

Today in Sa-land: Public Embarrassment!

This week at work we have been celebrating Customer Service Week! Every day this week has had a theme. Monday�Hawaiian, Tuesday�70s, Wednesday�Patriotic, Thursday�Fiesta, and Friday�Celebrity Day. There were activites planned around all of these themes. Disco dancing, pie eating, catered Mexican food lunch and celebrity walk of fame, to name a few. We were also encouraged to dress for the themes or so I thought.

Today being Fiesta day, I decided to go for a t-shirt depicting my favorite Mexican artist Frida Kahlo, a pin with her image, dangly Mexican-looking earrings, Capri pants and Keds. On the theme days, prizes were awarded for best costumes. When I arrived at work and found no one clothed in festive attire, I foolishly assumed that they just weren�t inventive enough to have come up with an outfit. When I got to my desk and checked out the flyer on the week�s activities, I found no mention of fiesta-themed attire. Evidently, I was the only person in a building of 500 employees who had this misconception. The one time I try and participate, this is what happens. I spent my day saying �ole� and telling people my pitiful tale.

As a part of the Customer Service Week activities, we were encouraged to pick a theme and decorate our team in that theme. My team chose �Deep Blue Sea� so we had an ocean/seaside/beach theme going. The supervisor had cut up large sections of blue paper for us to adhere to the ends of our desks facing the aisles. Everyone was supposed to tape their own paper on and then decorate it with some cut-out sea life.

For the past several weeks, the trucker�s daughter has been complaining incessantly about the amount of homework her daughter has been receiving for kindergarten. She can�t believe they have to do all of this stuff so young and has even sent the teacher a note saying how frustrating the workload is for her child, although we all know she herself is the one who has a problem with it. If you could have seen the manner in which she affixed this paper to her desk, all doubts about the true reason she complained about the kindergarten homework would have been swept away.

They told us to fold the excess paper over so that it would make a neat appearance. Evidently, quite a few of my coworkers, most notably the prot�g� and the trucker�s daughter, had difficulty grasping this concept. They taped theirs over the top of the desk.

The supervisor came by and said, �I don�t like the way those look. I want them to look more like this.� ~Supervisor points to Sa�s desk~ The trucker�s daughter, to her credit, adjusted hers. The prot�g�, on the other hand, left hers as it was with the exception of applying a half-roll of scotch tape to the edge of the paper and the top of her desk. I shudder to think what her gift wrapping must look like.

Tomorrow, for Celebrity Day, I�ve opted to dress as myself: Sa: Diaryland Celebrity.

No potentially embarrassing faux pas, that way.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland