September 26, 2001-9:35 p.m.

In Sa-land today, we will be discussing workplace events and irritations.

Today I arrived at work to find a goodly chunk of the parking lot cordoned off for the purpose of mending and restriping it. I had to climb over a rope whilst carrying my purse and tote bag in order to get into the building. The rope was about three feet off of the ground. Sa is five feet tall. Not a pretty sight. Luckily, I wore slacks.

Once I skirted the obstacle course that was now the parking lot, I went into the building to find that the intercom was on the fritz. The fact that anything said into the intercom came out of the intercom as high-pitched static did not deter people from attempting to page. After about two hours of what sounded like Charlie Brown�s teacher on helium (Wa wa wa wa wa), punctuated by what sounded like the noise produced when one lets the air out of a balloon while pulling the top of it taut, they sent an email saying not to use the intercom until further notice.

Later on, the prot�g� was having trouble downloading an application for a job in another department. I was as gleefully helpful with that as humanly possible only to have any hopes of losing her dashed by the realization that in order to transfer to another department she would have had to have been in her present position for nine months. Her nine months will be through in November. I encouraged her to try and post anyway.

After lunch, we had a two-hour training class on something that we trained on about two months ago but now they�ve changed again. I was able to secure a seat on the back row and spend most of the class hiding behind the computer. The trainer complained that we weren�t saying anything, which was the wrong thing to say to this group. We all started oohing and ahing like we were at a fireworks show and throwing in the occasional incredulous �WOW.�

When I returned to my desk, I saw the White-Hose Girl complete with white hose and the Fifty-year-old Streetwalker in her Dolly Parton pants and that pretty much made my day.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland