August 01, 2002-6:16 a.m.

Work has been pure hell for the last week or so.

*Caution: Work Rant Ahead*

As an example of how overwhelmingly awful it has been, I submit this:

Friday after work, I went straight to the beer store. I am a total lightweight these days, often tipsy after two beers. In the aftermath of what was one hellacious day, nay week, I got it up in my head that there was no way a six-pack would be enough so I bought a twelve-pack. I have nine beers remaining.

What, you may ask, got me into such a delusional snit?

You may remember that I told you I had taken over some of the duties formerly held by the trucker�s daughter. If I�d had my druthers, I would never have agreed to this and in fact, initially I was only supposed to be the back up.

Basically the gist of these claims is that someone from the employer gets the claim from the facility or doctor; the employer�s representative negotiates a rate with the provider, signs off on the claim and forwards it to me for payment. I foolishly assumed that since they had been working with the trucker�s daughter previously that they were all aware of what elements must be present in order for a claim to be paid.

I received a claim from one of these employer representatives that did not have all of the information necessary on it. The copy they sent had been cut off, thus eliminating two vital pieces of information. I informed the rep that this was the case and that the claim couldn�t be processed as it was. I even went so far as to offer suggestions as to how to place the original on the copier in order to get the most useful copy. I was told that they would make another copy and get it faxed over to me.

At the end of the conversation, the rep said, �Thank you, Beth.� Like that�s my name or something.

I didn�t receive the fax that day and didn�t really think anything else about it; I communicated what I needed, it was up to them to get it to me. I also figured if she couldn�t remember my name, she may not remember the fax either.

Last week, I get a call from them asking about the status of the claim. I informed them that I still needed the clean copy of the claim. They responded that they had faxed it over and told me they were going to fax it over and that if the trucker�s daughter had not received the fax she would have called them.

~Perhaps you called her by her correct name so she had some confidence in the veracity of your statements when you said you were going to fax something.~

Anyway, this woman was so incensed by my irresponsible behavior that she sent an email to a senior person at the employer, stating how I�ve completely fudged this whole thing up and trucker�s daughter never would have behaved like that. She also expresses concern over the fact that faxes are being lost at my office.

In this email she also alleged that she had spoken to me on July 10th and let me know that she was faxing the clean claim over and when I didn�t receive it, I should have called her to let her know. The only trouble with this is that I was not at work on July 10th. My mother was admitted to the hospital at approximately 3am that morning and I missed work that day. If you told somebody you were faxing something on July 10th, it sure wasn�t me. Maybe it was Beth you spoke with and by the way, do you have a confirmation for this fax showing that it was sent successfully.

When I receive their new fax, it is exactly the same as the one I initially received. I contact the employer�s rep (again) letting her know what specific information I require in order to process the claim. The rep responds with a tacky email basically laying the blame for this debacle on me. Then she gives the provider my direct phone number.

Her assistant tries to give me the information over the phone. I�m forced to tell her that I can�t take this information over the phone that for audit and quality reasons, I need it in writing. What I get from them is the same copy they�ve been sending but this time they�ve written in the missing information. Um. Hello? Are you familiar with the term �fraud�?

Then the moronic genius, tries to go around me by contacting my back up and saying that she thinks I must not be there. That might be an easier sell if you didn�t include copies of emails we exchanged earlier that day.

This development launches another barrage of emails in which she copies God and everybody else, saying that if the requirements have changed, she should have been notified and now the provider is upset and may not work with them again.

Well, guess what? The requirements haven�t changed. It�s always been that way. If the trucker�s daughter accepted that sort of trash, she was violating company policy and maybe even a few laws.

Yesterday, I received another fax from them in which a part of the claim had been cut off. I send them an email reiterating that this copy is unacceptable. More emails ensue. By this time the senior employer rep has grown tired of all of the email traffic and asks the client liaison to have me call the provider detailing what information we need. Um. That�s not my job. Okay?

I get with my supervisor and it is decided that based on the number of emails containing moronic questions and comments, maybe we should have a conference call with the rep and let her know what we need to have. I send an email telling her this and asking when would be a good time for her. Since her boss is tired of all of the email traffic, I only copy the participants of the proposed call. She shoots back testily that if any call is going to be made, it should go to the senior people at the employer and she once again copies God and everyone.

I had to talk to the livid provider who insists that a clean bill was sent to the rep despite the fact that they couldn�t seem to produce it for me. I ended up having to give the provider to my supervisor. He maintains that this claim is holding up his payroll. What kind of sheisty joint are you running that one claim makes the difference in payroll.

Please, God. Don�t make me have to deal with this crap again today. I�m begging you!

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland