September 15, 2005-10:29 p.m.

It�s been a weird and stressful 24 hours.

Last night I decided to tell the hubby about a few resentments I�ve been feeling lately. I have been depressed of late about a few things---New Orleans, gas prices, microscopic raise, etcetera. I�ve been really worried about the future and my ability to survive financially. I hadn�t mentioned it to him because I assumed that he was scraping by just as I had been.

A few weeks ago I found Diego staring down into an air conditioner vent in the back of the dilapidated 20-year-old trailer, I call home. I got the flashlight to see what had caught his attention so and found that there was a snake skin in the vent. I couldn�t tell if the snake was still in it or not but it was definitely a bit unnerving. I left to go to work feeling fairly certain that any right-minded snake would never risk entering a home with two cats.

I called my Dad from work and he agreed to go over there and have a look. I called back later and he told that it was definitely a snake skin (duh) and that he couldn�t find anything that he could poke around in there to see if the snake was still around. Never mind the fact that there was a broom right outside that room. I called hubby. He was completely freaked out but not freaked out enough to come do anything about it, mind you. I�ve got plenty of males in my life---could I get one that is a MAN?!?

I ended up putting heavy stuff on the vents and then getting the snake skin out of there with the vacuum cleaner myself. Later, I find out that at about this time hubby is out buying paint for his house. The second set of paint in the last six months because he was fool enough to buy paint in colors his former roommate picked out in the vain hope of currying favor and thus being granted sexual favors. The roommate had the most hideous taste. He painted one wall of the hall in a deep glossy chocolate brown, like a Hershey bar and the opposing wall in the palest of pinks. He painted the bathroom in a palette of baby blue, peachy flesh color and Chinese lacquer red. He also went from room to room and rolled on colors he was considering in a sporadic manner. Hubby maintained the whole time that he didn�t care how or what color it got painted as long as it got painted.

So it�s okay for the wife to have a snake in her vent while you redecorate?

Then over this last weekend he misplaced his partial dental plate. He was frantic. He looked everywhere to no avail. Then Monday he found it on the floor under his desk at work. Don�t ask. He had already made a dentist appointment and decided to keep it even though he had found his teeth. He talked to me of buying a new denture to have as a spare and of having his teeth bleached and having the denture made in the brighter color. I tried to persuade him that this was completely foolish as these are his back teeth and no one can see them unless he�s holding his mouth open and that there were other things he could spend $1500 dollars on. His truck is ancient. His furnace and air conditioning are ancient as well. There is nothing wrong with the teeth he has and he would not have ever called the dentist if he hadn�t misplaced them. He decides to keep this appointment anyway.

I recently had to have a new crown put on one of my teeth. I had to sell stock to pay for it.

He told me that I couldn�t take the $1700 that I spent on my new roof off of our income taxes because we have to use HIS address so that he can deduct HIS house. What the heck difference does it make when HE isn�t getting the refund. Social Security automatically changed my address to his because we filed jointly and he still hasn�t sent me that mail. Being married is adversely affecting my autonomy.

By the time I have spent all day thinking about this stuff, I decided to call him and let him know that I felt like I was getting the raw end of the deal here. He turns this into me wanting to take all of his money and we never said we were going to pool our money together and he IS helping me out. He pays for his insurance and he GAVE me his income tax refund and if the woman who saved his life is still struggling while he lives like a king then so be it.

I was so incensed that I issued him an ultimatum�either he figures out how he is going to help me out or I won�t renew his insurance. Heat of passion junk. I sent him an email later stating that I could never cancel his insurance and let him die if for no other reason than the fact that I am unwilling to incur that sort of karmic debt. I told him that I know there is a man in this equation somewhere because he always dumps everyone when there is a man in the picture. I also told him to pay for his insurance and I would file my own income tax, that I did not want him referring to me as his best friend, that he can change his will---I no longer care.

He sent me a long and rambling reply with the subject line PRICELESS addressed to �Dear Wife� and signed �Your Friend� �And Husband� about how I have reduced our friendship to a battle about money. I chose not to bite this ever so tempting bait.

So I�ve got all of this going on and this morning I had a 7 am dentist appointment for a cleaning. Of course, they found a cavity even though my mouth is otherwise pristine. My lunchbox was on the floor of the passenger side of the truck so when I got to work I decided that I would go over to the passenger side and get it and my purse at the same time. As I got out of the truck as a reflex, I hit the door locks and closed the door just as I realized what I had done, holding only my badge. I went in wearing my sunglasses because the others were in my purse and I can�t see shit without glasses. I had to look up Cingular�s number on the website and get Mr Rescue�s number from them. It was 8:45 and they said the person should be there within 25 minutes. I missed an important call at 9:30 waiting for them to arrive. At 9:58, I called the roadside assistance people back and they tell me the guy is out in the parking lot looking for me and he�s driving a Chevy S-10. I gave them my work phone number because, of course, my cell was in the truck with my purse. They didn�t call. I asked the lady if I was just supposed to go out and wander the parking lot looking for a Chevy S-10 or what.

I get out there and there is a Chevy Cavalier parked behind my truck with some magnetic Rescue Call signs stuck on it and a white-trashy woman in the passenger seat. The guy has some sort of case open on the trunk. He�s wearing a sleeveless black t-shirt and some tan shorts. On his arm he has a jailhouse-looking tattoo�Wasted Youth�in some sort of curvy script the girls in the eighth grade used to write their crushes� names on the front of their spiral notebooks back in the day. I�m thinking he probably got that in Juvy and learned locksmithing as a trade in the state pen but what the hell he got my lunch out of the truck before I starved to death so he�s okay by me.

Couple all of this with the fact that India didn�t get any of the emails we sent them today and called me about twenty times asking if I had sent out emails and you�ve got the gist of my day.

Glad it�s over.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland