June 10, 2005-5:58 a.m.

Confession: I am hopelessly addicted to House.

I�ve been a Hugh Laurie fan since Jeeves and Wooster and wasn�t sure how I would like him in the role of an American but it turns out that those misgivings were completely unfounded.

Tuesday night there was an episode on that I hadn�t seen before. I hadn�t thought to set the VCR before leaving that morning so I was very intent on getting home in time to see the show. I got off of work at about 7 and it usually takes me about an hour to get home.

Also on Tuesday evenings my parents go to the Dairy Queen in Farmersville with their friends from the Antique Car Club. They take their old cars there and hang out visiting with people.

So I�m racing home and I get there with a minute or two to spare and there is a truck in the driveway. I had to drive on the grass to get around it and down to my house to park. There are these two old men looking at my Dad�s old panel truck hotrod.

So I get out of the truck and exchange niceties and find out that one of the men painted my parents house a while back and the other man is his preacher.

Great.

One of the things about living in the country is that a lot of people know my parents. I don�t know many folks here because when I come home from work, I�m a hermit. My parents, however, are involved in the community and people know them so I have to mindful of this and gauge my actions accordingly.

    Preacher Man: �Are you a Christian?�

    Sa: �Yes�

Now anyone who knows me knows that is not the way that I wanted to answer. My preferred response would have gone something like this:

    Preacher Man: �Are you a Christian?�

    Sa: �No. I�m a baby-eating Pagan. Look! I�ve got two black cats! Bye now!�

And then I would have dashed into the house and caught my program. But no! I have to begrudgingly be polite and take their stupid card and map to the church and miss the start of my favorite show.

*heavy sigh*


Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland