December 16, 2004-6:04 a.m.

One weekend day while the phones were still out here, I took my mom to Wal-Mart. I wasn�t feeling really great but I needed groceries for the coming week so I somehow managed to drag myself through the store.

I bought a new weather strip for the bottom of the front door and my plans were to get that put on before it got too cold and then maybe take a nap or relax in some kind of way.

I hadn�t finished putting the groceries away when in comes Dad with my digital camera. While Mom and I were out, he decided that he would make a carburetor catalog to put on the table during swap meets and he needed to download his photos to a disc so he could work on them.

My computer had drives for several types of memory sticks and media cards so I�m telling Dad that he just needs to take the memory stick out of the camera and insert it into the correct slot and the computer will give him several choices for what to do. I�m trying--trying--- to finish putting the groceries away.

Dad ~hollering from the bedroom~: �Saaaaaa! It�s not doing anything!�

Sa ~hollering from the kitchen~: �Did you put the card in the slot?�

Dad: �Yeeeeeessssss!�

I drop what I�m doing and go back there. I tried to launch the card from My Computer and noticed that it wasn�t showing a card in the reader.

Hmmmmmm.

I look at the slot for the cards and none of them have a card hanging out of them.

Come to find out, Daddy had inserted the memory stick, not in the slot it belongs in, but in the floppy drive.

Great!

I suddenly turned into Daddy when he is helping fix something he doesn�t want to fix.

Sa:

    �Get out of the chair.

    Move!

    I can�t fix it with you in the way!

    Go get that flashlight off of the dryer.

    Can you shine it right here?

    Right. Here?

    Oh, give me the damned thing! Jeez!

I finally ended up going to the bathroom for tweezers and pulling it out of there that way. So I get the stick in the right drive and get him ready to go and the files are too big to save to his disc. So I show him how to reduce the size of the files and tell him to call me when he is ready to save.

I get myself all settled on the floor. Ready to attach the new weather strip. I�ve probably got � of one screw in when I hear,

�Sa! I�m ready to save.�

Rather than expend the energy and brain power trying to explain it to him, I saved them to his disc myself.

Oh and did I mention that he reeked---REEKED of gasoline?!

And that while I was saving his files, instead of busying himself helping with my door, he laid his stinky-assed self on my bed! YUCK!

I finally get him out the door and over to his house. At dinner I asked Mom when their next swap meet is and she tells me FEBRUARY!

He has TWO MONTHS to prepare his brochure and he wants to do it the minute I come home from the grocery store!

I was SO mad!


Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland