October 06, 2004-6:02 a.m.

Electrical Catastrophe, Part 2

Daddy came over here to survey the damage but didn�t offer much guidance other than lifting the blinds and unlocking the window and opening it. Oh and discovering that the smoke detector in the kitchen didn�t work.

I called Bubba and he called his friend. I chased Diego down at M&D�s and stuffed him back in his carrier and came back home. Bub and his friend got here at about 11 while I was trying to take a nap. Mr. Miller checked the breaker box. Nothing amiss there. He then went outside and checked the breaker box on the pole and the meter box.

Bingo!

Evidently the neutral in the meter box had burned up creating an extremely dangerous situation. Don�t even ask me what that means other than I could have burned up. I have no earthly idea what the neutral is. All I know is Mr. Miller was quite agitated when he found the problem.

It was determined that the meter box would have to be replaced and I would need some other stuff. I was sent inside to call local building supply emporiums to determine if they had everything pre-assembled on the pole and at what cost. I also had to call the electric company and find out if the meter had to be on a pole or if it could be attached directly to the trailer and whether they could send a man to switch everything over once we got it all ready. The dispatcher was unsure so I left my phone number for a supervisor to call me back. He said that the box had to be on a pole which meant that we would need a new pole since Daddy and Bubba had rigged two poles together 18 years ago and it wasn�t the best solution even then. When I asked him if they could come out once we got everything together he said,


    �We don�t normally do that on weekends but I understand that you�ve already burned some stuff up because of this problem. . . so call back when you are finished and I�ll send someone out there.�

Bubba and Mr. Miller went back to their houses to see if they could scrounge up the parts to fix my problem.

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Darn it!

I�ve run out of time again!

And there are still plenty of misadventures to report.

Stay tuned for more classic Sa-style disaster!


Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland