December 01, 2003-6:01 a.m.

It seems that as my employment with the insurance company nears its end a conspiracy is afoot amongst my coworkers to drive me even more insane with their collective inanity.

As an example, I submit this email exchange with someone who for our purposes will be known as Smartypants in Florida.

As a part of my duties on this account I process claims that are submitted for reimbursement of hearing aids. I received an email from Smartypants via a circuitous route through another processor and then a supervisor. She was asking about benefits for hearing aids and included a screen print of the claim. Rather than try to explain the benefits to an obvious dimwit, I processed the claim myself.

Imagine my surprise when I received an email from Smartypants four days later with �2nd request� in the subject line. She had also copied someone whom I can only assume is her supervisor. I replied, also copying her supe, that if she had checked the member�s history screen she would have realized that I processed the claim three days prior. I also included a screen print of the history screen in question.

Once again thinking that was the end of the issue, I was surprised to receive yet another email from Smartypants also copied to her supervisor:

    Sa,

    Thank you for your response, however I show in the benefits on the system that only 1 is covered per calendar year.

    *she pastes the benefits here*

    �Blah, blah. Limited to one per ear per calendar year.�

    Can you please send me the information you used to process this claim?

    Thank you for your help,
    Smartypants

My initial reaction: �Oh no you did not.�

I responded in typically Sa-fashion and this time I copied in my own supervisor as well as her supervisor:

    Smartypants,

    The benefit is one per ear per calendar year�most folks have two ears.

    Thanks,
    Sa

Surprisingly enough, I didn�t hear back from her after that.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland