September 07, 2003-7:30 p.m.

Thursday afternoon a bunch of layoffs were announced at my company.

We sort of knew something was going on because there had been some major cloak and dagger type stuff going on since Tuesday when they sent out an email telling us there would be a corporate employee meeting on Thursday at 2pm. They went on to say that your supervisor would let you know where the meeting was to be held.

So, of course, Wednesday and Thursday before the meeting were devoted to rumormongering.

Thurday morning we also got an email from the facilities manager stating that the cafeteria and mailroom would both be closing at 12:30 in preparation for the meeting and no one would be allowed back in there before 5pm.

I felt more and more nauseous as the day progressed on Thursday. At 2pm, our supervisors came around and whispered into our ear the location of the meeting we were to attend.

I was fortunate enough to be in the not laid off group but then I found out that the non-laid off people would be working from home. Also to work from home, we would need to have a high-speed internet connection via dsl or cable.

How I was placed in this group when we can't even get frickin' caller id out here in the booneys, I don't know.

I don't know what I'm going to do but fortunately I have some time to figure that out.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland