March 08, 2003-7:48 p.m.

My brother�s cardiologist is supposed to be finding out where he can go to be evaluated for placement on the heart transplant list since he has no insurance. He told my sister-in-law that he may have to go to Houston. When she called the cardiologist�s office to find out more about what they should do, the nurse hadn�t heard anything about it. She called several other times and still hasn�t heard anything.

We are extremely desperate because if he needs the transplant, we want him placed on the list as soon as possible. I looked on the internet and came up with a number for Texas Heart Institute in Houston which I assumed was where they would send him. My sister-in-law called there and explained the situation and they called back and told her that there is nothing they could do for us without insurance.

My poor sister-in-law has called all over the state of Texas and has pretty much come up with the same answer everywhere. I suggested that she start calling senators and congressmen. We are getting pretty desperate.

We are trying to find out if taking donations to pay medical bills will have a detrimental impact on his ability to collect Social Security Disability. From what I could tell from their website, it shouldn�t but I went ahead and submitted that question to them and they should email me a response.

Some people he knows want to do a benefit. I am working on a Save Bubba page.

I�m going to explain the situation and put some pictures of Bub on there as well as a Pay Pal button to take donations. I�m also printing up cards to direct people to the page.

I�m going to a big country and western concert next Sunday. That crowd should be amenable to the tale of a down-on-his-luck mechanic, struck down by heart failure right at the moment that he decides to try to stick it to the man and go into business with a friend, thus losing his insurance coverage.

I suck worse than anyone on the planet at selling things, but I�m going to be handing out those cards and working the cause like there was no tomorrow.

Hopefully it�ll help.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland