February 13, 2003-8:50 p.m.

Today during my lunch break, I went to a nearby computer store to see if I could pick up another battery for my digital camera.

Parked in front of the store was a black truck with shoe polish messages supporting the war with Iraq on it. Whoever owns this vehicle did not find it necessary to wash the truck before applying the shoe polish so those slogans are now, likely as not, etched into the vehicle�s exterior finish.

�Bomb Iraq�

�Support Our Troops�

There was even a small American flag tucked into one of the tail light grill things.

I was sickened by the entire spectacle. Bomb Iraq? What the hell has Iraq done to you? I can�t fault the �Support Our Troops� sentiment; I just wish the powers that be would consider whether these people�s lives are worth controlling a bit of oil.

I�m just not buying it.

On the radio this morning people were calling in and complaining about the French and their opposition to this war and how they ought to look at which side their bread is buttered on, especially since we�re always having to bail them out, blah, blah blah.

The French have just as much right to their opinion as we do. I certainly don�t think they would expect us to follow them blindly into some war just because that�s what they wanted to do.

That�s just the way it looks to me�like Dubya just wants to make Poppy proud by cleaning up the mess he left behind. Certainly if Iraq has had all of these weapons for some time and hasn�t used them yet, I don�t think they�re going to.

To me, this war effort is some sort of smoke and mirrors attempt to make us forget that they never got Osama. As a sort of compliment, it is also serving to inflame the lunatics who commit terrorist acts.

I wonder if we would be at a Code Orange right now if we weren�t so intent on showing Iraq who is boss.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland