October 21, 2002-9:25 p.m.

Despite numerous maneuvers on my part to try and avoid the fair, I still ended up going on the last day�yesterday.

If we had gone to the Ag Barn, I might have been mistaken for a show pig! I can�t get over how much worse I look in these pictures than I do in the mirror.

That having been said, here is my trip to the fair complete with pictures!

The first thing you see when you walk into the fair is Big Tex. He talks and everything.

We saw this guy just as we were leaving but I think he really fits here in the Big Tex section.

The tennis shoes are a nice touch, don't you think?

Our first priority was to find something to eat and synchronize our watches so that we would be able to get beer as soon as they started serving it at noon.

Here�s Larry with a Fletcher�s Corny Dog and Big Tex. Fletcher�s Corny Dogs are a state fair tradition.

Larry, Beth and Bob played games on the Midway while I paced nervously and took pictures.

This guy is evidently a huge Dallas Cowboys fan. He�s got his Cowboys suit on and a knee brace most likely necessitated by an ages-old football injury. We saw him later at one of the extreme rides where he was lifted way up in the air in a cage-like apparatus and then dropped into a net from a dizzying height. Good thing he wore that brace.

The moment you�ve all been waiting for�The Big Shot! It�s a really long ways up there!

I attempt to give Larry the evil eye thus persuading him the ride is unnecessary to no avail.

Here we are being strapped in:

We�re ready to go!

The operators were rocking the seat back and forth in an effort to make us even more nauseous than we already were. They asked us if we wanted a countdown and Larry said yes and the ride started immediately.

We were up at the top of those towers in a nanosecond! They said the ride goes from 0 to 90 MPH in one second. We could see the downtown Dallas skyline.

Larry loved it. I just wanted to get down.

Once they get you up there, they jerk with you a little. Go down some. Go back up. Spin around. Go down a little. Go back up. You get the idea.

Here we are immediately after the ride.

Larry liked it so much that he persuaded Beth to ride it again with him.

After the ride was over, a fried Twinkie was in order. I am sorry to report that the Fried Twinkie is not nirvana or the instant orgasm they made it out to be. It was merely okay.

We played on the Midway some more. Here I am with some of the booty.

I love that crow!

As we were leaving, we couldn�t resist getting a make-over:

With any luck, it will be another twenty years before I have to go to the fair again and then I'll be too old for those crazy rides.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland