March 19, 2002-10:15 p.m.

On St Patrick�s Day, my friends Bob, Larry and I went to an all day concert put on by the local radio station KHYI�The Range. I was originally supposed to go with my best friend Beth and her husband Bob but Beth had to go to Ohio to tend to her sick mom so Larry stepped in as the pseudo-Beth.

Pseudo-Beth aka Larry

We arrived at 11:00am.

Beer did not go on sale until 12:00.

There�s definitely something wrong with this picture.

The first band was the Domino Kings. They were really good and even did a Faron Young song.

Domino Kings

Next up was the Hangdogs, a band I�ve wanted to see for quite some time now, but the only time they seem to be in town is on TX-OU weekend. There�s no way in hell my geriatric ass is going into downtown Dallas on TX-OU weekend, so when I heard they would be playing this show, I was thrilled.

Hangdogs Setting Up

They played a really great set, including an as yet unrecorded song with the chorus, �If you�re so country, why don�t you drink yourself to death.�

The Hangdogs

I may have to reconsider my position on TX-OU weekend partying!

I didn�t take pictures of the rest of the bands.

I think the fact that they were now serving beer may have had an impact!

I did, however, take a few shots of some of the revelers.

Check out the 80�s hair on this girl!

I have no idea who this guy is but I think he was friends with the Hangdogs. His hat is made of the Texas flag.

I found out quite by accident that this lady is Miss Lana. She evidently has a site devoted to Texas music. I just liked her get-up!

This guy looks like he just stepped out of a Wild West show!

Frat boys or what?

The fanny pack is a nice touch, don�t you think? Matches the shirt and everything!

So I had a really great time. There were lots of great bands there. In addition to the two bands above, Eleven Hundred Springs, Bruce Robison, Jack Ingram and Slaid Cleeves also had excellent sets.

Gary Stewart, on the other hand was downright painful to watch. He didn�t seem to know the words to the songs and they were all offbeat. We left before his set was over.

I know, y'all.

I�m a dork.

And a country dork, at that!

Aliquot!

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland