July 05, 2007-12:32 p.m.

Good God!

Have I really not updated since February?!?

Evidently not.

I�ve been working sooooo much. Averaging 60-65 hours a week and sleeping the rest of the time. For the next three weeks, however, I will be in training. I�ll be working from home on my �unsupported� Green Acres-esque, beamed from a local water tower, high-speed internet connection.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

A few weeks ago, after a long day at the office, I decided to stop by Subway on my way home from work for a tuna sandwich. The Subway location closest to my house is located inside a truck stop. I go in and the man working behind the counter asks me how I am doing and I say �Fine� and being the polite person that I am, I also said �How are you� fully expecting that his response would be �Fine� as well. Evidently, at this point I was mistaken for a person who actually cared how he was doing and what was going on in his, I can only assume actively imagined, life.

Subway Man: �My ex-wife just called and said she got a call from the school and our son is failing. We�ve tried everything. We�re thinking of sending him to military school. What can I get you?�

Sa: �I�ll have the tuna on wheat.�

Subway Man: �Would you like cheese? What I really can�t understand is what happened with him. You see, I was the valedictorian of my high school.�

Sa: �Cheddar. Must be hard�

I�m thinking, surely to god he does not expect me to believe that he was the valedictorian of his high school and now the best he can do is work at a Subway in a rural truckstop.

Subway Man: �And the thing is, my wife was valedictorian at her high school, too.�

This is the place where I resisted the enormous temptation to explain to him what he probably should already know as valedictorian of his high school class---that intellect is not an inherited characteristic.

Sa: �Hmmmm. Ranch, black olives, lettuce, tomato, pickles.�

I still can�t help but wonder what it was about me that made him think I would believe that crap or why he would think I would want to know anymore about his pathetic life than I could glean from the fact that he works at a Subway in a rural truckstop in the middle of nowhere.


Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland