November 14, 2002-7:46 p.m.

I had the most horrible experience last night. I was driving along on my normal route home down a dark country road thinking about what I was going to do when I got home and listening to the radio. All of a sudden I saw something that looked like it was fluttering in the oncoming lane.

�What the hell?�

Then there was a dog running across the road right in front of my truck. I slammed on the brakes and tried to avoid hitting it as best as I could but I couldn�t go into the other lane because there was oncoming traffic. I know that I hit the dog. I was shaking and found a place to turn around and went back but I didn�t see any dogs anywhere. All I could think about was my precious baby, Buster.

I was still shaking when I stopped a little while later to get gas. While the tank was filling up, I checked to see if there was any damage to my truck. Somehow in the course of this incident, I completely ripped one of the fog lights out of my bumper.

When I called to tell Larry about my misadventure, he called me �Dog Killer.�

This morning I called the dealership and talked to a guy in service. He said he would have to look at the truck to know what I would need. I persuaded Helen to let me leave an hour early today and stay an hour later tomorrow. I went to the dealership and the service guy told me that I had some additional damage to my bumper other than just missing a light. $78 for the part alone not including $40-$50 labor. I said I might have my brother put it on for me. Later in the conversation, he said �blah blah blah have your son put it on.�

My son!

Like killing someone�s precious puppy wasn�t punishment enough, now this guy has to go implying that I look my age. Granted, I wasn�t wearing make-up today, but still. I�m just not used to having people think that I am as old as I am.

I went over to the body shop there at the dealership and got an estimate on the rest of the damage. $600! I have a feeling this might not be handled at the dealership. I�m thinking Bubba could probably use a couple of extra bucks and is plenty capable of installing a light and straightening a bumper. Plus, I really can�t see filing this on insurance and having �dog killer� on my record for however long it takes for that stuff to fall off.

In an effort to cheer me up, one of my coworkers and a loyal Sa-land fan told me at least I didn�t run over my own dog like she did.

That�s some consolation.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland