November 06, 2002-8:25 p.m.

Yesterday being Election Day, I moseyed on down to my Podunk polling place before work to cast my vote.

No worries about chads or any other sort of technical glitches here because we bubble in our ballots with Ebony pencils. I suppose if you didn�t erase completely after changing an answer, it could be problematic but that�s not likely to be a widespread concern.

I find the poll even though there are no signs out because we always vote in the school district building which is little enough to fit inside our barn with room to spare, so where else would I go?

I get inside to the room where we vote and I hand my card to this woman who must be God�s sister.

Elderly Gem: �You last name starts with Y. Let�s see. L�M�N�O�I have to say the alphabet so I can remember which order the letters go in�

*Sa laughs nervously*

Geriatric Dollbaby: *looking at the name Sullivan in the register* �I don�t think you�re in here.�

Sa *glancing nervously over her shoulder at the man behind her*: �I don�t think you�ve gone back far enough�

Another, more experienced lady comes over to help. She flips the register over and points my name out to the aging newbee and tells her to write my name on a form and have me sign it.

Senior Sugar Plum: �Why do I always have to sign it first? Why can�t they sign it first? *looking at me* Do you live over off of 1234?�

Sa: �Uh, no. I live off of 2345. The old Stevenson place.�

Ancient Annoyance: �There used to be a lady with the same last name as you that lived over there that was a nurse. I don�t know if she still is a nurse or not. Was that you?�

Sa: �You�re thinking of my mom.�

I finally get my ballot and get settled in to bubble it and I hear her going through a variation on the same routine with the guy behind me. When I went out to the truck to leave, they had her putting up the voter signs.

When Mom and Daddy went to vote, she told them that their daughter-in-law had been there.

I realize that they were probably desperate for volunteers to work the polls but I hope next time they have someone young enough to remember the alphabet.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland