April 30, 2002-4:40 p.m.

In the past several days, I�ve gotten a new appreciation for what Heather must endure. Of course, my experience is not anywhere near the degree of suffering that I�m certain she has undergone.

I found out today that I have been stricken with my first ever bladder/kidney infection. Pretty remarkable for a woman of my advanced age, I�d say.

I never fail to be amazed by my own stupidity, at times. I�d been having some back pain for about a week and was certain it was related to spending an inordinate amount of time in my chair at work. Too much overtime had caused this cruel fate!

Sunday, when I started exhibiting undeniably urinary tract related symptoms, the details of which I�ll spare you here, I started chug-a-lugging the demon cranberry juice. The aforementioned symptoms abated somewhat but because I am diabetic and now conditioned not to take any kind of risks with my kidneys, I decided to play it safe, stay home from work and seek medical attention.

The doctor�s office would not be open until 8 or 8:30 so, once I�d called in, a nap was in order. I woke up at 12:30 certain now that the staff of the doctor�s office was at lunch. When I woke up again at 2:30, I got up, showered and somehow managed to dial the doctor�s phone number only to find that my doctor had no appointments until this morning.

I went to my appointment and my suspicions were confirmed and the cause of the back pain was credited to its rightful source.

~It so too could have been from overwork!~

From the doctor�s office, I dragged on over to Wal-Mart to have my prescription filled. Weekdays at Wal-Mart must be to geriatrics what Senior Night at Six Flags is to high schoolers! The place was packed with oldsters, none of whom seemed to actually be purchasing anything.

I loaded my cart up with all manner of cranberry-laced beverage, picked up my Cipro (I guess that�s in case I might have the anthrax, too) and hit the road.

Tomorrow will find me back in the evil desk chair that I�m still trying to find a way to blame for this misfortune. Larry, meanwhile, is still trying to find a way to blame the high sodium content of the Lean Cuisine dinners I eat for lunch each day.

I think we may have ourselves a Mexican stand off, here.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland