March 25, 2002-12:33 p.m.

Is it really obvious that I�ve just returned from the dentist�s office?
Oh, the pain!

You may think that pained expression on my face is due to the dental work, but you would be wrong.

The lopsidedness of my face is a result of the novacaine, however.

The pained expression is as a result of the conversation that was going on as I was trying to check out.

I just wanted to write my check and make my next appointment.

I should probably point out that my dentist�s office is in a very small town near the even smaller town in which I reside.

There is this big-haired lady in the waiting area monopolizing the receptionist and for the most part, the conversation. I can�t remember what she was talking about when I got out there, but before I left, we had heard her views on:

  1. The Academy Awards�Denzel and Halle won because it was a �black thing�

    *Grrrrrr*

  2. The fact that her husband didn�t accompany her to church on Sunday so she just felt she could speak her mind in the Sunday school class she visited. Something to do with foreign affairs, I didn�t really follow that one.

    *Your husband isn�t here now, so I guess that�s why we are being treated to your opinions, too.*

  3. The receptionist is visiting Canton (a huge flea market held the weekend of the first Monday of each month) come rain or shine. Big-hair has a friend who owns a tearoom there and the receptionist should mention big-hair�s name when she goes there and get half a slice of chocolate pie and half a slice of coconut pie.

    *Could I just find out how much I owe without your out-of-town restaurant recommendations?*

I�d gotten my check written by then at least.

The dentist passed through and mentioned that he is going to Siberia for sight seeing.

Big-hair has to inquire as to whether he collects anything on his travels.

He collects artwork because he can lay it flat in the suitcase and it doesn�t take up too much room and then he can have it framed when he returns.

She tells him that he should collect something small that he could have engraved on the bottom with the dates he acquired them.

*Mmmmm*

He also might want to get a big world map and put a colored pin in every place he�s traveled to.

He already has that. So much for your novel ideas.

She finally shut up long enough for me to get my next appointment and get the hell out of there.

So anyways, the pained expression is not so much as a result of dental work but of pointless pontification by other dental patients.

Aliquot!

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland