December 28, 2001-8:42 p.m.

Today�s theme�Naivety in Sa-land!

You would think a person as jaded and cynical as I am would not be so easily fooled.

I suppose by now, you have all heard this story about the Arab-American Secret Service agent whom the pilot refused to allow to board his flight.

I�m on the CNN site last night and they have a poll asking whether or not the Secret Service agent was a victim of racial profiling. Being the left-leaning bohemian liberal that I am, I voted yes and assumed that anyone who had read the story and had half a lick of sense, would have done the same.

I got my comeuppance when the poll�s results were revealed after my vote was cast.

    Yes: 53%

    No: 47%

I had rightly assumed that there would be a few people out there who would not think this incident was the result of racial profiling but I was genuinely shocked that the numbers were so close.

I think cynicism is the natural reaction of a romanticist to an overdose of reality.

Previous-Next

SaveTheInternet.com

**Disclaimer: All characters in this diary are fictional. Any resemblance to actual people living or dead, real or imagined, is purely coincidental and unintentional.**

Sa-land

Book Reviews

Guestbook

Leave Me A Note

Email

About Me

My Space

Older Entries

Latest Entry

Diaryland